DUI Charges – Mac Miller

DUI Charges       (Call 866-No-Jail-1)

DUI charges – Mac Miller has been arrested due to an accident involving the suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol.  The incident occurred on Thursday, May 17th, 2018.  Here are some facts related to the charges:

  • Malcolm McCormick aka Mac Miller and Ariana Grande’s ex boyfriend
  • The arrested happened at approximately 1 a.m. on May 17th
  • It was a single car accident
  • Mac Miller was driving a 2016 Mercedes G Wagon which hit a curb and a pole
  • Two other passengers were with the rapper and all three left the scene of the accident on their own accord
  • The Los Angeles Police Department  tracked the owner of the vehicle, Mac Miller, through the license plate and DMV Registration
  • Mac Miller was arrested at his home where he confessed to the incident
  • No injuries were reported

DUI Charges

  • He was arrested for suspicion of Driving Under the Influence and Hit and Run
  • Bail was set at $15,000
  • He was released from jail approximately at 9:25 am on May 17th, 2018
  • His court date is June 7th, 2018
  • This will likely be filed as a misdemeanor

DUI Process

There are three parts to a DUI Charge in California.  Please note that it will change if it is a felony.

  • The Arraignment – This is hearing in the court where the plea of guilty, not guilty, or no contest is entered.  At this time, the prosecution will provide with the initial set of discovery which will include the police report, evidence of BAC (if available).  Your attorney should carefully review the evidence presented, and send a request for additional discovery to the prosecution.
  • Pretrial Hearing – Since you entered a not guilty plea, your case will be continued for a pre-trial hearing.  This hearing is typically no more than 30 days past the arraignment date.  If your attorney did their homework and requested additional discovery evidence, this is the date when they would receive the additional requested evidence.  Your attorney may prepare the following motions on your behalf:
    • Discovery motion (if the prosecution fails to turn over exculpatory evidence)
    • Motion to Suppress Evidence (to suppress illegally obtained evidence such as BAC)
    • Motion to Dismiss (to petition the court to dismiss the case)
  • The DUI Trial – If the prosecution and the defense cannot reach a resolution, then your case will be scheduled for trial.  Typically, it takes about 5-6 days from the date you pick a jury to the day a verdict is issued by a jury of your peers.

DUI Penalties

  • In California, the penalties are strict, especially for a second, or third or more DUI.  However, penalties for a first DUI are as follows:
    • Suspension of license (By Court and the DMV)
    • Minimum fine of $390 plus penalty assessments
    • Jail time (varies between juridictions)
    • Informal Probation of 36 months
    • Alcohol Program
    • Installation of IID on your vehicle
    • Restitution, if applicable

DUI Charges

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *